Log24

Friday, April 6, 2012

Reine Form

Filed under: General — Tags: , — m759 @ 9:29 AM

F.A. Porsche:

„Ein formal stimmiges Produkt braucht keine Verzierung,
 es soll durch die reine Form erhöht werden.“

Spectral Theory

Filed under: General,Geometry — Tags: , , , — m759 @ 8:00 AM

“And we may see the meadow in December,
icy white and crystalline” — Johnny Mercer

“At another end of the sexual confusion spectrum….”

IMAGE- Frank Langella and Liam Neeson in 'Unknown'

The devil likes metamorphoses.

Sunday, August 3, 2008

Sunday August 3, 2008

Filed under: General — Tags: — m759 @ 7:20 PM
Note for a Triangle

Triangle (percussion instrument)
The triangle,
a percussion instrument
featured prominently in
the Tom Stoppard play
"Every Good Boy
Deserves Favour
"

 

From a BBC News webpage
last updated at 22:31 GMT
(6:31 PM EDT)
Sunday, 3 August 2008 —

 

Alexander Solzhenitsyn
dies at 89

http://www.log24.com/log/pix08A/080803-Solzhenitsyn.jpg"Russian writer Alexander Solzhenitsyn, who exposed Stalin's prison system in his novels and spent 20 years in exile, has died near Moscow at the age of 89.

The author of The Gulag Archipelago and One Day In The Life Of Ivan Denisovich, who returned to Russia in 1994, died of either a stroke or heart failure.

The Nobel laureate had suffered from high blood pressure in recent years.

After returning to Russia, Solzhenitsyn wrote several polemics on Russian history and identity.

His son Stepan was quoted by one Russian news agency as saying his father died of heart failure, while another agency quoted literary sources as saying he had suffered a stroke.

He died in his home in the Moscow area, where he had lived with his wife Natalya, at 2345 local time (1945 GMT) [3:45 PM EDT], Stepan told Itar-Tass.

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev sent his condolences to the writer's family, a Kremlin spokesperson said…."

 

Related material:

Today's 3 PM (EDT) entry.

Powered by WordPress