Log24

Sunday, August 3, 2008

Sunday August 3, 2008

Filed under: General — Tags: — m759 @ 7:20 PM
Note for a Triangle

Triangle (percussion instrument)
The triangle,
a percussion instrument
featured prominently in
the Tom Stoppard play
"Every Good Boy
Deserves Favour
"

 

From a BBC News webpage
last updated at 22:31 GMT
(6:31 PM EDT)
Sunday, 3 August 2008 —

 

Alexander Solzhenitsyn
dies at 89

http://www.log24.com/log/pix08A/080803-Solzhenitsyn.jpg"Russian writer Alexander Solzhenitsyn, who exposed Stalin's prison system in his novels and spent 20 years in exile, has died near Moscow at the age of 89.

The author of The Gulag Archipelago and One Day In The Life Of Ivan Denisovich, who returned to Russia in 1994, died of either a stroke or heart failure.

The Nobel laureate had suffered from high blood pressure in recent years.

After returning to Russia, Solzhenitsyn wrote several polemics on Russian history and identity.

His son Stepan was quoted by one Russian news agency as saying his father died of heart failure, while another agency quoted literary sources as saying he had suffered a stroke.

He died in his home in the Moscow area, where he had lived with his wife Natalya, at 2345 local time (1945 GMT) [3:45 PM EDT], Stepan told Itar-Tass.

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev sent his condolences to the writer's family, a Kremlin spokesperson said…."

 

Related material:

Today's 3 PM (EDT) entry.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress