Log24

Monday, February 27, 2017

Tricky Business*

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 12:45 AM

* For the title, see Sunday morning.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Posthumous Man

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 3:45 PM

The above book, a tribute by admirers of the late Michael Weinstein
(not, as a campus obituary states, by Weinstein himself),
was reportedly published by Routledge on December 19, 2014.

This journal on that date had a post on an early Greek philosopher who
supposedly was killed because he discovered irrational numbers.

A later approach to academic life —

Emma Stone being directed by Woody Allen in the recent "Irrational Man":

Fans of Allen and Stone may also enjoy Magic in the Moonlight.

Saturday, September 19, 2015

The Observatory Mystery

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 11:00 AM

Part I:        Magic Moonlight

Part II:    To Walk the Night 

Cover from a 1944 edition of
the 1937 novel by William Sloane


Part III:   Sept. 18, 2015, review by Stephen King
                of the works of William Sloane 

Sunday, August 30, 2015

Lines

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 11:01 AM

"We tell ourselves stories in order to live." — Joan Didion

A post from St. Augustine's day, 2015, may serve to
illustrate this.

The post started with a look at a painting by Swiss artist
Wolf Barth, "Spielfeld." The painting portrays two
rectangular arrays, of four and of twelve subsquares, 
that sit atop a square array of sixteen subsquares.

To one familiar with Euclid's "bride's chair" proof of the
Pythagorean theorem, "Spielfeld" suggests a right triangle
with squares on its sides of areas 4, 12, and 16.

That image in turn suggests a diagram illustrating the fact
that a triangle suitably inscribed in a half-circle is a right 
triangle… in this case, a right triangle with angles of 30, 60,
and 90 degrees… Thus —

In memory of screenwriter John Gregory Dunne (husband
of Joan Didion and author of, among other things, The Studio
here is a cinematric approach to the above figure.

The half-circle at top suggests the dome of an observatory.
This in turn suggests a scene from the 2014 film "Magic in
the Moonlight."  

As she gazes at the silent universe above
through an opening in the dome, the silent
Emma Stone is perhaps thinking, 
prompted by her work with Spider-Man

"Drop me a line."

As he  gazes at the crack in the dome,
Stone's costar Colin Firth contrasts the vastness 
of the Universe with the smallness of Man, citing 

"the tiny field F2 with two elements."

In conclusion, recall the words of author Norman Mailer
that summarized his Harvard education —

"At times, bullshit can only be countered
with superior bullshit."

Friday, August 28, 2015

Art and Space

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 10:00 AM

IMAGE- Spielfeld (1982-83), by Wolf Barth
 

            Observatory scene from "Magic in the Moonlight"

"The sixteen nodes… can be parametrized
by the sixteen points in affine four-space
over the tiny field F2 with two elements."

Wolf Barth

Thursday, December 25, 2014

The Savage Tongue

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 9:00 AM

Friday, July 25, 2014

Actual Talent

Filed under: Uncategorized — m759 @ 8:28 PM

“It’s going to be accomplished in steps,
this establishment of the Talented
in the scheme of things.”

— Anne McCaffrey,  Radcliffe ’47, To Ride Pegasus

From a review of the new film “Magic in the Moonlight”—

“Sophie seems to have some actual talent….
When Sophie meets Aunt Vanessa, she uncovers the spinster’s
long-ago love affair with a member of parliament. It’s eerie.”

Material that is related, if only in story space:

Powered by WordPress